The National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW) is a grassroots organization of volunteers and advocates who turn progressive ideals into action. Inspired by Jewish values, NCJW strives for social justice by improving the quality of life for women, children, and families and by safeguarding individual rights and freedoms.

A Faith in the Future. A Belief in Action.



Honorary President Ellie Lubin
Honorary Vice Presidents Marcia Levy
Bea Podorefsky
Co-Presidents Jane Abraham
Elizabeth Halverstam
Ruth Seitelman
Vice Presidents
Administration Elaine Meyerson
Advocacy/Education Marilynn Friedman
Bari Lynn Schwartz
Community Services Sue Kanrich
Membership Ilene Wechter
Thrift Shop Karen Kurland
Treasurer Doris Sarokin
Recording Secretary Norma Goldsmith

The 2016-2017 Nominating Committee has selected six delegates, to be approved by the board at its March meeting, to represent Bergen County Section at the National Convention in March: Jane Abraham, Elizabeth Halverstam, Sue Kanrich, Elaine Pollack, Ruth Seitelman, and Bari Lynn Schwartz.

2016 – 2017 Nominating Committee: Peggy Kabakow chair; Gladys Laden, adviser; Ina Miller Silverstein, past chair; Lucy Doree, Elaine Bieger, Ginny Wasserman, Irma Ball; alternates Peggy Fine, Evelyn Masheb. Lucy Doree will chair the 2017-2018 Nominating Committee.


Honorary President Ellie Lubin
Honorary Vice-Presidents Gladys Laden, Ann Levenstein
Presidium Fran Einiger, Marcia Levy, Bea Podorefsky, Elaine Pollack
VP Administration Elizabeth Halverstam
VP Advocacy/Education Jane Abraham and Marilynn Friedman
VP Community Services Ruth Seitelman and Barbara Berger-Brill
VP Membership Ilene Wechter
VP Thrift Shop Karen Kurland
Recording Secretary Norma Goldsmith
Corresponding Secretary Zita Foster
Treasurer Doris Sarokin


Trustees 2016 – 2018
(2-year term)

Phyllis Betancourt
Elaine Bieger
Evalyn Brownstein
Phyllis Grossman
Linda Horowitz
Susan Kanrich
Marian Kugelmass
Evelyn Masheb
Ellen Ptalis
Addie Rudin
Bari Lynn Schwartz
Sabina Sicklick
Phyllis Stashin
Inez Swartz
Barbara Tillis

Trustees 2016 – 2017
(completing 2nd year)

Phyllis Becker
Jeannine Ciliotta
* Peggy Kabakow
Alice Kanrich
Edie Kaplan
Myrna Levine
Edna Lewitz
Aida Melamed
Ina Miller-Silverstein
Barbara Simon
Pearl Sorkow
Henrietta Wolfeiler
* Nominating Chair 2016-2017

Trustees 2016 – 2017
(replacing 1-year term)

Irma Ball
Nan Matlick
Joan Ornstein

2015-2016 Nominating Committee
Chair: Ina Miller-Silverstein; Past Chair: Fran Butensky; Advisor: Ann Levenstein;
Members: Marilyn Sirulnick, Peggy Kabakow, Henrietta Wolfeiler, Edie Kaplan
Alternates: Barbara Tillis, Addie Rudin

Click here to print: SLATE 2016-2017