National Council of Jewish Women Bergen County Section 75 South Washington Avenue Bergenfield, NJ 07621

Contact:

Elizabeth Halverstam ehalverstam@ncjwbcs.org



NATIONAL COUNCIL OF JEWISH WOMEN HONORS LEADERS OF TOMORROW

TEANECK/WESTWOOD/MAHWAH/PASCACK VALLEY/DEMAREST/OLDTAPPAN/HACKENSACK/ENGLEWOOD/RIDGEWOOD

At a recent board meeting of the National Council of Jewish Women Bergen County Section, eight amazing young women were each awarded \$1,000 college scholarships as their proud families looked on. These Bergen County graduating seniors were chosen not only on the basis of their stellar academic records, but also in recognition of their leadership accomplishments in school and community and their commitment to Jewish values.

The Marjorie G. Aerenson Memorial Scholarships were awarded to Rebecca Brandon (Westwood Jr./Sr HS) and Deanna Javer (Mahwah HS) who will attend Brandeis University and Adelphi College respectively. The winner of the Kabakow Family Scholarship was Lauren Cohen (Pascack Valley HS) who will study at Tufts University.

Dina Gelsey (Northern Valley Regional HS), who will matriculate at the University of Rochester, was chosen for the Wolfeiler-Simon Scholarship. Tal Kamin (Bergen County Academies) was the recipient of the Bach Scholarship and is off to the University of Michigan. Sofie Kravitz (Northern Valley Regional High School) received the Zimmerman Family Scholarship and will study at Ithaca College. The National Council of Jewish Women Bergen County Section Scholarships were given to Nicole Matanov (Academies at Englewood) and Melanie Lieder (Ridgewood HS) who will be at Occidental College and Middlebury College respectively.

When presenting the awards, Scholarship Committee Chairperson, Evalyn Brownstein stated, "Among the scholarship criteria were each candidate's academic record, meaningful participation in school and/or community activities, and financial need. This year's recipients raised the bar in every way." After receiving their scholarships, awardees were applauded enthusiastically by their proud parents and the NCJW BCS board members and were wished much success and happiness on the next phase of their educational journey.

The scholarship committee members consisted of Grace Fuld, Phyllis Grossman-Kaplan, Peggy Kabakow, Elizabeth Warms, Henrietta Wolfeiler, and Nanette Matlick and Evalyn Brownstein, co-chairs.

NCJW BCS provides educational and stimulating programs and speakers throughout the year, including six general meetings and a myriad of study groups, book groups and trips. For more information, please visit www.ncjwbcs.org or call 201-385-4847.

The National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW) is a grassroots organization of volunteers and advocates who turn progressive ideals into action. Inspired by Jewish values, NCJW strives for social justice by improving the quality of life for women, children, and families and by safeguarding individual rights and freedoms.

Photo captions:

<u>Scholarship Awardees 2018</u>: Lauren Cohen, Sofie Kravitz, Rebecca Brandon, Dina Gelsey, Deanna Javer, Tal Kamin, Nicole Matanov, Melanie Leider (not pictured).

Photo credit: NCJW BCS.

Scholarship awardees with NCJW BCS Scholarship Committee Members: Rebecca Brandon, Peggy Kabakow, Evalyn Brownstein, Grace Fuld, Nan Matlick, Tal Kamin, Henrietta Wolfeiler, Elizabeth Warms, Sofie Kravitz, Nicole Matanov, Deanna Javer, Dina Gelsey, Lauren Cohen Melanie Leider (not pictured). *Photo credit: NCJW BCS.*