National Council of Jewish Women Bergen County Section 75 South Washington Avenue Bergenfield, NJ 07621



### Contact:

Elizabeth Halverstam ehalverstam@ncjwbcs.org

### NATIONAL COUNCIL OF JEWISH WOMEN HONORS LEADERS OF TOMORROW

## GLEN ROCK, FRANKLIN LAKES, RIVERVALE, WYCKOFF, HILLSDALE, CLOSTER, WOODCLIFF LAKE -

Eight amazing young women were each awarded a \$1,000 scholarship at a recent Zoom meeting of the National Council of Jewish Women Bergen County Section. These Bergen County public school graduating seniors were chosen not only on the basis of their stellar academic records, but also in recognition of their strong leadership accomplishments in school and community and their commitment to Jewish values. The annual scholarship awards are a long-time program of National Council.

Two new scholarships were presented this year: the Podorefsky Scholarship was awarded to Naomi Meininger (Northern Valley High School) who will study Criminal Law at Tufts University; and the Jarett Fein Scholarship was given to Sidney Birnberg (Ramapo High School) who will attend Brandeis University to major in Computer Science.

Abigail Stern (Glen Rock High School) received the Kabakow Family Scholarship and will study Gender Studies, History/Political Science, Prelaw and Journalism at Tufts University. Olivia Fornasteri (Ramapo High School) was the recipient of the Wolf-Simon Scholarship and pursue a degree in Communications, Film-Media Studies and Theater at Muhlenberg College.

The Marjorie G. Aerenson Memorial Scholarships were presented to Bari Hayden (Pascack Valley High School) who is bound for the Rochester Institute of Technology where she will study Graphic Design and Computer Science; and Rachel Cohen (Pascack Valley High School) who will head to New York University to major in Political Science and Journalism.

Emma Leipsner (Pascack Hills High School) was presented with the Marilyn Taffet Scholarship and will study Healthcare at the University of Michigan. Lily Cohen (Bergen County Academies), who was the recipient of the Bach Scholarship, will enter Northwestern University with a concentration in Political Science, Legal Studies and Theater

NCJW Board of Directors wishes much happiness and success to the scholarship recipients as they begin their new lives in the college world.

The Scholarship Committee members were Grace Fuld, Phyllis Grossman-Kaplan, Peggy Kabakow, Bea Podorefsky, Elizabeth Warms, Henrietta Wolfeiler. The Co-Chairs were Evalyn Brownstein and Nanette Matlick.

### Photo caption:

Photo credit: NCJW BCS

Recipients of National Council of Jewish Women's 2020 scholarships. On Zoom (L-R)

National Council of Jewish Women Bergen County Section 75 South Washington Avenue Bergenfield, NJ 07621



# Contact:

Elizabeth Halverstam ehalverstam@ncjwbcs.org

Top row: Rachel Cohen, Abigail Stern

Middle row: Sidney Birnberg, Emma Leipsner. Olivia Fornasteri

Bottom row: Lily Cohen, Naomi Meininger, Bari Hayden