The National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW) is a grassroots organization of volunteers and advocates who turn progressive ideals into action. Inspired by Jewish values, NCJW strives for social justice by improving the quality of life for women, children, and families and by safeguarding individual rights and freedoms.

A Faith in the Future. A Belief in Action.

Hannah G. Solomon Award

This award is named after our founder who in 1893 brought together ninety Jewish women from all over the United States to the Parliament of Religions at the Chicago World’s Fair. By doing this, she formed the first major Jewish Women’s organization, The National Council of Jewish Women, dedicated to faith, humanity and serving unmet human needs.

This prestigious award is based on the following criteria:

  • An individual who is known for her/his interest, activity and stand on vital issues with which NCJW is sympathetic, and has helped translate them into community programs
  • An individual who has made known and stimulated interest and action in unmet needs at the grass roots level and brought about important community services
  • Someone who is a catalyst for social change


Mitch Schonfeld has been President/CEO of the Bergen Family Center in Englewood since 1992. The organization is the oldest continuously-operating family service agency in Bergen County and currently provides services to 5,000 infants, toddlers, children, youth, families and older adults annually. NCJW Bergen County Section has supported several programs at Bergen Family Center with volunteers and financial aid for many years. These include its popular HIPPY program (Home Instruction for Parents of Preschool Children), Adult Senior Center (for visually-impaired adults and other seniors), and its newest endeavor, NCJW BCS/Renee Guller Infant-Toddler Center.

Past Recipients
Hannah G. Solomon Award
1966 Pauline Rappaport
1970 Police Chief Robert Fitzpatrick
1971 Paula Rosenblum
1974 Ann Robison
1976 Doris Quarles
1977 Joan Liseman
1980 Ruth Cowan, Shirley Hart
1982 Rabbi Judah Washer
1984 Hilde Goldberg
1986 Florence Nass
1988 Norman Tell
1990 Marilyn Taffet
1993 Susan Katz
1995 Honorable Loretta Weinberg
1997 Sister Patricia Lynch
1999 Jacqueline Kates
2001 Madeleine Brecher
2003 Ruth Zalaznick
2005 Barbara and Alfie Liebmann
2006 State Senator Richard J. Codey and Mary Jo Codey
2007 Ellen Jacobs
2009 Harry Belafonte
2010 Marcia Levy
2011 Bea Podorefsky and Connie Hochberg
2012 Ina Miller-Silverstein
2013 Assemblywoman Valerie Vainieri Huttle
2014 Elaine Adler
2015 Elaine Meyerson