The National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW) is a grassroots organization of volunteers and advocates who turn progressive ideals into action. Inspired by Jewish values, NCJW strives for social justice by improving the quality of life for women, children, and families and by safeguarding individual rights and freedoms.

A Faith in the Future. A Belief in Action.


National Council of Jewish Women Bergen County Section held its 94th Annual Installation of Officers and Awards Ceremony at a delightful Champagne Brunch at Temple Emanu-El in Closter on June 6, 2017.


The afternoon began with champagne and hors d’oeuvres, followed by a brunch buffet and award presentations. The Hannah G. Solomon Award was presented to Mitch Schonfeld, President/CEO, Bergen Family Center and the Woman of the Section Award was given to Elaine Pollack. Attendees received a beautiful Journal and there was a raffle drawing for some outstanding prizes.

Mitch Schonfeld has been President/CEO of the Bergen Family Center in Englewood since 1992. The organization is the oldest continuously-operating family service agency in Bergen County and currently provides services to 5,000 infants, toddlers, children, youth, families and older adults annually. NCJW Bergen County Section has supported several programs at Bergen Family Center with volunteers and financial aid for many years. These include its popular HIPPY program (Home Instruction for Parents of Preschool Children), Adult Senior Center (for visually-impaired adults and other seniors), and its newest endeavor, NCJW BCS/Renee Guller Infant-Toddler Center.

Elaine Pollack has always utilized her strengths to help her community. She has been a member of Temple Emeth in Teaneck for many years and has chaired many committees and served as a Board Member. She worked as a Property Manager for the Housing Authority of Bergen County and when she retired in 2005 she became active in the Bergen County Section of NCJW, where she has served on a number of committees. In 2009 her commitment and dedication were recognized, and she received the Emerging Leader Award. She was elected as Vice President for Administration and Membership and in 2011-13 she was elected as Co-President of the Section. In 2015, she was again elected to the Presidency as part of the 2015-2017 Presidium. Ms. Pollack lives in Bergenfield.

State Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg and Assemblywoman Valerie Vainieri Huttle, both of whom are NCJW life members, presented the awardees with Resolutions on behalf of the NJ State Senate and Assembly.

Newly-installed Co-Presidents Jane Abraham, Elizabeth Halverstam and Ruth Seitelman look forward to facing the challenges that the next year will bring. Jane added, “Together with our dedicated officers and directors and our remarkable volunteers, we will re-commit to our mission to help and support the most vulnerable in our community.”

Click photos to enlarge.

Co-Presidents seated L-R: Jane Abraham, Elizabeth Halverstam, Ruth Seitelman
Executive Committee standing L-R: Doris Sarokin, Elaine Meyerson, Sue Kanrich, Ilene Wechter, Karen Kurland, Norma Goldsmith, Bari Lynn Schwartz. Not pictured: Marilynn Friedman